This is a pleasant fiction, isn't it?

Lights — Siberia

Well, I gave Lights a second chance. I was completely turned off from her first album. The Listening was basically dicking around on a Macintosh.

Siberia on the other hand, is much better in terms of production. I don’t think it’s just her. Definitely not.

So, I’m still not a huge fan of her stuff. I’m not dismissing her entirely, but she’s no Imogen Heap or M83. She’s basically a poor man’s electronica/synth-pop.

A few tracks just irked me to the point of skipping. Where the Fence is Low, Flux and Flow are a couple tracks that stick out in my memory. It’s as if Skrillex pussied the FUCK out and collaborated with her. (Heh. I’d LOVE to collaborate with her. Perhaps musically, but more so carnally.)

Day One is actually really enjoyable… I mean, shit… THAT’S what I want to hear. Her voice every now and then…just briefly vocalizing would be great. it’s just the rest of the tracks…it’s too…too…pop-py. I mean, Jesus, the beginning of the album, PLEASE give me more than just quarter notes and eighth notes. And does everything have to rhyme? I’m no lyricist, but holy hell, it just gets annoying. I would enjoy it a lot more if her vocals were very sparse throughout the album, as an accent, rather than the gist of the music. It’s just overtly catchy and… and… *shudder*
But did I mention I really want to sleep with this girl?

Overall, Lights is still a huge meh, I mean, I’ll listen to it… if new material comes out I’ll probably get /around/ to it… her stuff (the vast majority of it, anyways) to me is cut out for being played at Forever XXI while teenage bitches shop for shit thinking that they’re SO fashionable.

Fuck this, I’m going to listen to Mare.

One response

  1. Oh man, now I can’t even remember how any one of the damn songs go…

    October 20, 2011 at 22:16

Leave a Reply

